In "career", play the game saves your progress
automatically. However, this causes undesirable situations, as
when you lose 1500 or more to a Boss like the Hammer. The game
offers no way to save the game before playing a new CPU player.
If you lose, you are usually out of luck. Use the following trick
will to save the game before you play a new CPU player. This
allows you to play him or her again without losing your money.
Make a new folder in your "virtual pool 3" folder and
name it "save backup". Copy the "vpc data"
folder and the file "vp save.vpx" into this new folder.
Do this just before you play a Boss. Every time you defeat a new
CPU player, quit the game and backup the "vpc data"
folder and "vp save.vpx" file again, letting Windows
overwrite the older files. If you lose to the CPU, just copy the
contents of your "save backup" folder back into the
main "virtual pool 3" folder, and let Windows overwrite
the files. Restart the game and you will be back to where you
last saved the game with all your money. To make this quicker,
keep your "virtual pool 3" folder open on your Windows
Desktop while playing the game.